You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 13/04/11 - 10:33 am Title: Upon Meeting Arwen (Aragorn)

So, I'm not going to lie - most of these induced tears!! You have a beautiful gift with words and imagery, woven into these heart-wrenching poems. It's a rare talent, but you own it! Well done! - Iri

Author's Response: What a lovely compliment! I am delighted that my efforts can move people so. Thank you so much for telling me! hugs ~~~~~{~@

Reviewer: Ria Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/05/07 - 12:17 am Title: A Morning of Pale Spring (Faramir)

Oh, lovely! I like the vegetal metaphor -- so true to Tolkien! -- and of course Faramir would have a poetic turn of expression. Another great one in your series.

Author's Response: I thought he would too. Thanks for commenting! This one was one of my own favorites, written in early spring after a number of very angsty poems...thought it would be nice to have a happy one for a change! thanks once more ~~~{~@

Reviewer: Merry Signed [Report This]
Date: 23/04/07 - 09:18 am Title: Shieldmaiden (Eowyn)

l like this!

Author's Response: thanks hun:D ~~~{~@

Reviewer: Sarien Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/02/07 - 01:09 am Title: Discovery (Legolas)

I love this chapter! It's written so beautifully!

Author's Response: Thank you! It's one of my own favorites too! ~~~{~@

Reviewer: Merry Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/02/07 - 01:33 am Title: Left Behind (Merry)

I like that poem. Wonderful

Author's Response: Why, thank you....Merry! :D:D:D ~~~{~@

Reviewer: Ria Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/02/07 - 03:48 am Title: Shieldmaiden (Eowyn)

I really like this one, particularly the image of the key.

Author's Response: Thank you! This one was rather a hard one to write. At first I felt it was a little too preachy and lacking in emotional appeal, but some readers told me otherwise. Thanks for commenting! ~~~{~@

Reviewer: Ria Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/02/07 - 07:02 am Title: Upon Meeting Arwen (Aragorn)

I feel that Tolkien must have on some level. The long wandering, the struggle to reclaim his rightful place when some people see him as just a wandering beggar . . . Arwen's long wait for him, and the fact that even the happiness of their union presages the end of the heroic age and the beginning of a mortal life that can only end in death: that seems a pretty good argument for taking Aragorn as an Odysseus figure. Also, Arwen is a brilliant way of solving the tension inherent in Odysseus' devotion to his grey-eyed goddess and his wife, since she unites both of those roles in herself. (Hmm, there's a lit paper in that, isn't there?)

Author's Response: Oh yes, definitely a lit paper...maybe you should write it and post it here;);) Those parallels make a lot of sense and I dare say Tolkien had them at least in the back of his mind....

Reviewer: Ria Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/02/07 - 06:28 am Title: Upon Meeting Arwen (Aragorn)

You used some excellent imagery. I particularly liked "scalded by snow, frozen by lightning." Also I like the parallels with the Odyssey: he's not a bad poetic image for Aragorn.

Author's Response: Thank you! Why, I didn't even think of the Odyssey, but yes, it does work. I figured Aragorn must surely be a poetic soul in his own way. ~~~{~@

You must login (register) to review.