Reviews For Instinct
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: kwanikwani Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/07/09 - 06:06 pm Title: Chapter 3: Awakening the Beast

Lions! Very cool, look forward to reading more. Nice description of the strange birds. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, I wanted to go with something different which would challenge me and this is, if you liked this story I strongly recommend you take a look at Narya's "Second Chance" story which was written for this same challlenge, it is very good! The 'Strange Birds' were actually men, I thought from the perspective of a Lion who had never before encountered a man and the way they walk upright it would see it and think of a bird such as an Ibis bird which I am going on a very long limb to say possibly may have lived in the Oasis as well, but I am stretching it I know but didn't see why a Lion having never a man should know what they are. Anyways, thanks again for the review! :)

Reviewer: kwanikwani Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/07/09 - 06:04 pm Title: Chapter 1: Viscious

Hey, just wanted to say I'm enjoying this- your descriptions are really nice, and I like how your characters have some depth. :)

Also I noticed a few potential typos, nothing big but thought you might like to know:
-"it did not trouble her look straightly those who she persecuted." There might be a word missing in this sentence, or I'm not reading it properly. :)
- There also seems to be punctuation missing from the end of sentences?

Author's Response: Hello there! Thanks for the review and I am glad you think my characters have some depth and I am planning to introduce some new characters to the story shortly. If there are grammar mistakes, which I know there are ;) It is done completely accidentally as while I do read and then re-read several times over what I have written before submitting a new chapter and still I do still sometimes miss and I also don't have a Beta reader which is not an excuse, only a fact ;D I am not sure what you mean about puncuation missing from the end of sentances but I will have a look over since sometimes when I copy and paste some of what I have written gets left behind. Thank you for bringing that to my attention though, I do apprechiate it.

Reviewer: Luna Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/07/09 - 12:56 am Title: Chapter 1: Viscious

Wow! You really pulled me into this story! Great job.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It is a such an incredible compliment to hear that a reader has been pulled into a story and I am so pleased to hear you are enjoying it :)

Reviewer: Narya Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/05/09 - 08:22 am Title: Chapter 1: Viscious

Oh, so she's a lioness! Wow! And by the sounds of it she's somewhere in the south; this is all most intriguing...

Great work - I love your descriptions, everything's so vivid, I feel like I could be there :-)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the kind review, Narya. I wanted to take on this challenge but also find an animal that had not yet appeared in this challenge and since I know that there would have not naturally be any Lions in the North I did decide to put the story in the South as it is a place that has always fascinated me. I am so pleased to hear my descriptions were so vivid that you could place yourself there but unfortunately it is not such a nice place to put yourself, not for the moment at least. Thanks again! :)

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/05/09 - 08:08 am Title: Chapter 2: Soulless

Oh wow, now this is different! So she has not come into Middle-earth in the north, but by the sounds of it, somewhere in the desert.

Great job, Anwyn, I can't wait to see where this goes.

Author's Response: Thank you, I was trying to go for different and choose an animal that had not yet done in any of these stories and also decided to set it somewhere different in Middle Earth as well :) Thank you so much for the review, I hope you have more of this story up soon.

Reviewer: Traveller Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/05/09 - 12:00 am Title: Chapter 2: Soulless

Oh my gosh, she's a cat! This is wonderful so far, and extremely well-written. I'm an animal lover/ aspiring veterinarian, so this story really hits home with me. I'm routing for Victoria, keep up the good work!

-Traveller

Author's Response: Goodness, that was quick! I only just put the story up! :D I am so pleased to hear you are enjoying the story and I aimed for an animal that had not yet appeared in the other stories for this challenge. I am also an animal lover and so the thought of someone purposely harming a defenseless creature just sickens but Victoria is not exactly defenseless either. Thanks so much for the kind review :)

Reviewer: Liliesshadow Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/05/09 - 09:20 pm Title: Chapter 1: Viscious

nteresting...I like it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I hope you keep reading as I hope to have the second chapter up soon-ish :)

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/05/09 - 06:09 pm Title: Chapter 1: Viscious

ooh, thrilling start, Anwyn! I hope your busy work schedule gives you time to update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I have been wanting to do this challenge for quite a while but could not think of a way I could manage it without making it rather silly but laying in Emerg the other day I finally got my idea! My work does keep me busy as do the several other new stories I am working on but I will do my best to start work on the next chapter as soon as I can becuase I know where I want to go with it and so I really want to jump on it. Thanks for the review! :)

Reviewer: Narya Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/05/09 - 11:35 am Title: Chapter 1: Viscious

Oh, gosh, Anwyn! This is an exciting start to the challenge, I can't wait for more. I wonder if Victoria is dead or if she's in a coma or...well, I'll stop speculating, I don't want the surprise to be spoiled :-)

I never know what to think in cases like these, with an elderly person who lives alone with hundreds of animals; I think it's terrible, but I can't help wondering if they've just lost the plot, if they're mentally ill or something. A sad situation for all concerned.

Your description of the state of the animals was heartbreaking.

Am now on tenterhooks for the next installment!

Author's Response: Thank you so much Narya! I do my best to kick things off to an exciting start when I can and this is not going to be a terribly long story, I think, at the moment so I want to keep things rolling along. It breaks my heart when I hear about an old house filled with cats but the thing is that yes the person is usually mentally ill, It is really a form of hoarding but with live animals which is terrible and in the last few years I have seen way too many stories of houses full of cats and dogs and most have to be destroyed as they are just too sick or mentally damaged, It is horrible, abseloutely horrible what people do to animals and I feel punishment should be stricter....Victoria just happens to share my views on this ;) As that will play a major part in the upcoming story. I will have the next installment up soon with any luck, I have a few stories going on but since I feel like I have some momentum going on with this one I want to continue as I feel I have a good idea of where I am going to take it but just working out the 'How' part of things. Thanks so much for the Review! :)

You must login (register) to review.