You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Lisse Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/04/10 - 10:40 am Title: Chapter 9: We Do Not Forgive Traitors

I've read all of your work several times. The awe I felt after reading your work the first time has not diminished. Today I finished chapter 9 of Feantur. Nothing I can think of can adequately describe my admiration. Your writing is indeed glorious. How gifted you are Los Gloriol!

Reviewer: Lisse Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/04/10 - 12:24 am Title: Prologue

I love the themes your exploring in this chapter (7). We all risk the death of a part of ourselves often and in many ways. Nobility takes the risk.

You've expressed these deep themes so eloquently, as usual, and provoked me to think about uncomfortable realities.

Only one with your gift could make reading about death, shall I say pleasurable?

Can't wait to read the next chapters and the end!

It seems wine is a common means of dealing with Celegorm's inpatients

Reviewer: Lisse Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/02/10 - 11:29 am Title: Chapter 2 --- The Halls of Waiting

If I believed in reincarnation I would say you where a writer who once lived in such a time and place, you write so authentically. As always you draw me into the world you create and I don't want to leave it. You make every seen come alive so vividly and give the reader effortless understanding of your characters mind, emotion, and circumstance right from the start.
There is so much more to say about the beautifully crafted stories you produce, but all I can do is the written equivalent of stammer in amazement. Every Tolkien fan that enters this site owes themselves the treat of reading your work. We are privileged to have you write for us.

Author's Response: *Blushes* I don't know what to say, except thank you for your kindness. This story, in particular has always felt mediocre at best and weird. LoL! I feel so very honored that you like it and completely humbled by your review. Thank you again. *Hugs you*

Reviewer: Los Gloriol Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/02/10 - 05:18 pm Title: Chapter 8: Time is of the Essence

I wish I could write faster, because every single time you leave me a review I laugh so hard I am in tears. And I really needed a good laugh this week. Can I just write nonsense and have you remark? You're like taking a happy pill. *hugs you*

Of course this story is kind of psychotic nonsense.

Now for a review of your reviews. hehehe, because honestly they are more entertaining than this story.

This: “WARNING: Elf at breakfast.” My husband died laughing and he doesn't even like Elves. I am so getting a sign of that made!

Nah, Maglor's bit of fluff was never mentioned until this chapter.

ROFL! Like he’s got them facebooked or something? Kitt seriously you are funny.

Goodness! Close the Netherworld and toss out the Overlords till the second coming. But coming from him, I believe it!
Just another day at work. ;)

I couldn't deny 'Timo his grand entrance. Elf in armor always very sexy.

It makes me think of Gandalf said in TTT: I’m dangerous, you’re dangerous, we’re all dangerous.

I'm smiling again. You crazy girl.

I have to love Aidan’s order to Maglor: just go posses a body for a while. Yep. Why not?

ROFL!!!! Aidan has a weird way of looking at the world.

Action in next chapter promised.

Hugs you. LoL! I still cant believe you are reading this. Hugs you again for making me laugh.

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/02/10 - 03:33 am Title: Chapter 8: Time is of the Essence

Watching dead men bounce off a barrier? That’s one of the stranger pastimes I’ve heard of. :D

There should be a sign in the kitchen, “WARNING: Elf at breakfast.” I find the image of Celegorm donning an apron and frying bacon charming. ;) No wonder at all that Grace is contemplating liking him.

So Maglor has a lady. (At least I don’t remember it being mentioned before.) Another facet to his melancholy, one I like. It makes him more dimensional

“Of course I do not pity her, since it is I who has had to endure you for two lifetimes.” Score one for Maglor.

“…It is how he manipulates people, Grace.” And now it’s a tie.

Aha! Aidan is in touch with the Valar? Like he’s got them facebooked or something? Not like that’s any big deal of course… :P

Sounded like Aidan did some mental stretching to reach that conclusion. Goodness! Close the Netherworld and toss out the Overlords till the second coming. But coming from him, I believe it!

The standoff between Aidan and Cynifrid was fantastic – Aidan being so laid back and the brothers literally glowing in rage.

YAYAYAYAYAY! I knew Maedhros would have to have a dramatic introduction! Tall, powerful, strong and *in armor.* No disappoint here. But wow… Aidan never ceases to amaze. It makes me think of Gandalf said in TTT: I’m dangerous, you’re dangerous, we’re all dangerous.

I have to love Aidan’s order to Maglor: just go posses a body for a while. Yep. Why not?

Aw, so we got to wait for the brothers to have their emotional get-together? But perhaps that will be made up for with lots of action in the next chapter…? :)

Kitt

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/12/09 - 11:06 pm Title: Chapter 7: Let Death Not Seek You

Yay! It’s been a while… I was very happy to see a new chapter!

‘Pretend to be lost!’ Hah! I love Aidan. Such a sense of humor. :)

Beautiful writing again. You showed with all the senses Grace’s fears and doubts. I was especially moved by “I do not seek death! Death seeks me!” and the Feantur’s answer - “Wield me, Grace, and face death. Let it not seek you.”

Did I mention a talking sword of doom is really, really, really cool? :D

The sword’s appearance is breathtaking! Just the way you wrote it – I wanted to touch it very badly.

Tyelkormo’s criticisms on the ballad cracked me up. Why, I think the pronunciations are lovely! :P

Oooo! Maglor is so handsome!!! I like how you distinguish between the brothers – that both are passionate, but Maglor keeps it in control.

Awww. If Tyelkormo cannot touch it… then can I also not touch it?. :( Hmm. Then why can Aidan poke it? And why must things not be discussed in front of Grace…?

Thanks for continuing. I love this story. ^^

Kitt

Author's Response: Hi Kitt! Thank you! I'm hoping to post more often now. Beautiful writing again. You showed with all the senses Grace’s fears and doubts. I was especially moved by “I do not seek death! Death seeks me!” and the Feantur’s answer - “Wield me, Grace, and face death. Let it not seek you.” Thank you so much! *blushes* LoL! Where would we be without a talking sword? Tyelkormo can't help but be his usual bundle of chirpiness ;) He's mad at me because the story isn't about him. I always felt Maglor was probably more dangerous than Tyelkormo because he had charm and was better at holding his temper. That comes into play later. Sorry, you can't touch the sword :( But, guess who is making an appearance in the next chapter? *sighs* Thank you so much for reading it! I really appreciate it and all your input. You are very kind to continue reading it! Hugs you

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/05/09 - 12:06 am Title: Chapter 6: Live or Die by the Sword

Emotional stuff! Maglor’s speech was heart-wrenching.
Glad that Grace knows about Maglor now, anyway. It was rather awkward.
Aidan's outburst frightened me for a moment there. But I guess he knows more than any of them just what's at stake!
That’s information - she would actually fade if she doesn’t take us the Feantur.
I’d like to have seen the brothers’ faces when they saw the sword. Hehe.
Gar! What an ending! Clever, though, “make no decision.” That can’t last long...
Another great chapter!
*hugs*
Kitt

Author's Response: Sorry I took so long to get back to you! 3-year-old's are a nightmare. I wanted to explain fading because I wanted people to understand her choices were horrible either way. And I was hoping to pull a few heartstrings with Maglor's words. Hugs him. He's lovely. ROFL...ah well, she already thinks Celegorm is nuts. But in the next chapter she can see Maglor ;) No, Grace will need a bathroom break at some point ;) But poor girl has it rough. I'm mean. Thank you so much Kitt!!! Hugs

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 16/05/09 - 05:43 pm Title: Chapter 6: Live or Die by the Sword

You are consumed by your own being, the world becomes weary, it is a sickening sight to watch it evolve and not be a part of it. First the colors fade, and then you hear no bird, no rustle of leaf, no sound of any kind, not even your own voice. You cannot touch, you cannot taste and what you felt becomes only a sorrowful memory of your former self. It is all taken! All your senses gone until it turns to darkness and you are but a grief left in time.

Beautifully written and how terribly sad.

Author's Response: Thank you! I don't know if it is true to canon, but maybe plausible. Fading always led me to believe it was gradual, which really a sick kind of torture. Maglor had the worst ending :( Thank you again for reading! Hugs

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/05/09 - 09:02 pm Title: Chapter 5: Revelations

My, that bed sounds heavenly! Grace is a stubborn girl. Won’t take bribery of Aidan? I guess I don’t blame her.
Rose makes an interesting contrast. I feel a little sorry for her to be put into the position of laying out Grace’s new (and hygienic) life for her.
I do like that she confronted Aidan.
Ooooo! *lovely* description of Celegorm!
Ok, so Aidan is right. Outward appearance is nothing, as Celegorm and Grace are examples of. Funny neither of them seems to want to believe it.
Celegorm. Wow, he can’t hold his tongue. I was laughing when Aidan told him he was being almost common. Something of an understatement!
That she did not back down from the fiery Elf-lord ought to be all the proof anyone needs of her being the Wielder of Feantor. Seriously.
Aaah. We must wait till the next chapter to have Grace’s questions answered. Awright. *hums, trying to be patient*

Btw – Happy Mother’s Day! :D

-Kitt

Author's Response: I wanted a big contrast between the floor of a butcher shop and the luxury of the cottage. I did a lot of research and found sleeping on the floor with family was the norm for peasants. Rose got the brunt of it. I needed a breaking point for Grace. hehehe yes hygiene would be a nice start and a hairbrush. Some other research I found that peasants weren't actually as dirty as people think. But, Grace has been mistreated, so that is why she is a errr lacking in the smell good department. Celegorm's father name Turkafinwe meant strong in body. In other words he was buff. I can only imagine him as completely sexy, but meaner than a snake. Aidan is the only, besidea Maedhros who can shut Tyelkormo up from time to time. He did like to talk and make lengthy speeches about impending doom. Celegorm is just jealous. He doesn't like it someone else is getting all the attention. Bad, bad elf! Next chapter is nearly edited. It's kind of nutsy moreso than the other chapters. Thank you for reading Kitt! I really appreciate your comments and insight. :D Awwwww thank you! I hope Mother's Day for your family was wonderful too.! *hugs*

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/05/09 - 02:37 pm Title: Chapter 5: Revelations

I have to say it again, I love your Celegorm. I love the way you describe his beauty, his irascible temper and arrogance. Yes, I am afraid I am drawn to that sort.
Wonderful!

Author's Response: Thank you! Celegorm was my break away from writing the good guy all the time. If you ever want a stark contrast between the stereotypical knight in shining armor, then write the stereotypical meglomaniac. But he is a sexy meglomaniac, so all is forgiven. I am drawn to them too. It feels like I am doing something naughty, but darn sexy. Thank you for reading my gibberish!

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/04/09 - 06:30 pm Title: Chapter 4: Redemption

I like the deep thoughts explored here and Celegorm’s difficulty in understanding why he must murder to be redeemed.
Well,*I* don’t hate when Maglor manifests. :D
Maglor is making a lot of sense: this is a phase of their punishment. They must prove themselves ready to be redeemed. And Celegorm just won’t admit Maglor has a point? Hooo boy. It isn’t easy to be his brother.
I find it very funny to imagine Celegorm living the life of a monk.
*giggly* Ok, I really liked this “the wisest and eldest of the seven”. Will we get to see Mae soon???
Aw. That’s really quite a torture Celegorm induces on himself. I can’t imagine living over that by drawing. Yet it again shows his strength that he can even stand to draw out, look at his deeds over and over. I mean, most of us would try to block those images from our minds, not capture them forever on paper.
Nice chapter. I love redemption themes. :)
-Kitt

Author's Response: I figured Celegorm has a very long time to think about what he has done and feels remorse. Hehehe Maglor is lovely. I couldn't imagine being Celegorm's brother. I bet they all wished he had been born a girl ;) I think Celegorm would whine a lot and throw tantrums if he had to live a humble existence. Mae is coming. He has to have a grand entrance of course. I always thought maybe, just maybe Celegorm could feel guilt. He wasn't born evil, so if there is no oath warping his mind, I think the shame would kick in. Maglor sang of his guilt instead of trying to deny, so I thought maybe Celegorm would express it on paper. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and add such insightful comments. I always love to know what people think of my strange stories. Maybe one day I'll write something normal :D *hugs*

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/04/09 - 04:43 pm Title: Chapter 4: Redemption

Not that I have read much with Celegorm in, but I do love the way you write him! Your version will probably be the definitive one for me :)

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you so much! Celegorm is lovely. I can't resist his evil little mind and the thought of him before the oath. One of the sexiest of the Feanorians in my strange scary opinion. Thank you again for the review! *hugs*

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/04/09 - 02:49 pm Title: Chapter 2 --- The Halls of Waiting

I love your writing. I also *love* the way you write the Fëanorion's.

Author's Response: Thank you! I still don't think I do them justice, but I try. I always end up making Celegorm too much of a comic relief. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/04/09 - 10:59 pm Title: Chapter 3: Lindisfarne Priory

*grins sleepily* Well, I’ve not energy today. Got up at noon and ate chocolate bunnies and read the rest of the daylight hours.

Definitely: scabby badguys with dark hoods are a little clichéd. But I do think evil masking as beauty is more realistic. Not many would be pulled to evil if it looked obviously rotten! It actually is poignant, as with the sadness that lurks around the whole fallen angel business - the now artificial beauty of what they once were and had given up.

Oh, yes, I kind of remember that note about mean houseless Elves. That would be fun to put into a story… plot bunny attack!

Anyway, this chapter had a nice balance between light and dark. Not just in the scenery, but also the tone. There's Grace who has been pulled from a drudge life to somewhere seemingly kind and comfortable, and yet lurking on the edge of that is the knowledge she has a difficult task to perform. Yep. I’d freak out if I were her.

I liked that so much space was devoted to her thoughts. She’s smart and strong, believably so.

Now I am imagining Aidan as short with long pointed ears. Ah, well. :)

-Kitt

Author's Response: Mmmmmmm chocolate bunnies! You're right. I always think of Star Wars and the bad guys. I have no idea why I keep mentioning Star Wars. I hate plot bunnies. They poke at you until you do something about them. I decided Grace could either get angry or break down into a complete crying fit. I chose angry. Crying fits tend to make me cringe and then I just want to slap them ;) I feel like people look back on history and consider peasants stupid just because of their class, plus I think she would have street smarts. Hehehehe that is an interesting image. Thanks for taking the time to read my oddity!

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/04/09 - 01:17 am Title: Chapter 2 --- The Halls of Waiting

Ooooh! It’s an epic! Yay! *bouncy*

Ah, they’re not going to fight for the French? Just kidding.

I liked seeing inside Maglor’s head. “I have failed them all, their redemption forfeit, and we will return to Mandos and in our solitude think on what might have been.” An understandably gloomy fellow. Celegorm’s ever Celegorm: irritable with the poor girl. But the crankiness is why we love the guy.

Interesting how clearly you lay out the seen and unseen worlds. That always had confused me, like when Frodo saw Glorfindel on the other side in FotR or I don’t remember where I read it, that faded Elves are able to posses some mortals… yeah, well now it seems so obvious.

Creepy but cool Overlords. Awesome Maglor can posses animals. I hope he’s as fine as he says he is… And fascinating about the monk spirits.
“Why must everything be a test of my patience?” *nods*

Oho, is Aidan a Maia? Oo! Better yet, he’s Círdan. With a mask! :P

I like Grace. I can’t wait to see how her character grows. Really, that’s totally Eru: gives the infamous Feanorions a chance of redemption and small Grace of heroism. :D

Heh. I think Grace could not have thought Celegorm was any weirder by conversing with nobody.

This is so interesting, like nothing I’ve read, and beautifully written as ever… I am hooked.

*hugs*
-Kitt

Author's Response: Kitt, I wish I had some of your energy. Yep, it is a very long and weird story. Anything out of my brain is weird. ROFL! I still remember the fighting French comment. You can call them the French if you want. I always see Maglor as very melancholy and reflective. What can I say? If I ever see Celegorm and the word perky in the same sentence I will laugh my head off. He's the grumpiest loveable elf of them all. Interesting how clearly you lay out the seen and unseen worlds. That always had confused me, like when Frodo saw Glorfindel on the other side in FotR or I don’t remember where I read it, that faded Elves are able to posses some mortals… yeah, well now it seems so obvious Okay Nerd Alert! In some obscure notes Tolkien wrote he mentions the fact that not all elves were good. Some would try and take over mortal bodies and kick their souls out. That is why some men feared them. I always figured in the unseen world your seeing the spirit form. It is an odd concept. I wanted to make the Overlords beautiful instead of the stereotypical ugly bad guy. Aidan is more powerful than a Maia. You know the humble guy always has to be like master Yoda ;) Thank you Kitt! You are a sweetheart! *Hugs*

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 13/04/09 - 09:52 am Title: Prologue

I was wondering if you were going to post this on here! I am so glad you have begun!

This is really unusual in the best possible way. I've read stories about the modern day and Tolkien's world, but never anything historical.

I live your writing style!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It always means a great to me to see a review from you. *hugs* The hardest part was actually deciding to post this weirdness.

Reviewer: Amaranth Signed [Report This]
Date: 13/04/09 - 08:58 am Title: Prologue

Oh, you start posting it up here too *squeeee* This story is so special, it is absolutely awesome. *hugs*

Author's Response: Thank you sweetie. *Hugs* Hehehehe It is weird.

You must login (register) to review.