Reviews For Every Day
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Merry Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/12/09 - 02:14 am Title: The Blessings of Friends

This is excellent so far. I love it and can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks! I was actually working on said next chapter when I discovered this review! :) I haven't been getting a lot lately, so it really made me feel good! -Traveller

Reviewer: Dreamflower Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/08/09 - 01:24 am Title: Keeping Merry

How nice to see an update here when I finally got to come back over to this site!  I've been so busy lately that I've neglected coming here.

Poor Frodo, poor Merry and poor Pippin! This certainly was a very angsty chapter!  But it looks as though things are looking up again.

 



Author's Response: I'm with you on the busy thing- it turns out this summer has been even busier for me than school! I was glad to finally be able to get a chapter up. Yes, poor everyone! But that, I suppose, is the essence of angst. A little bit more angst, and then some happiness- hang in there! And also more about Diamond and Fair in the next chapter- I haven't forgotten about them! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing- I always love to read your comments and I take them to heart! -Traveller

Reviewer: Merry Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/07/09 - 08:22 pm Title: Keeping Merry

Very good chapter! Can't wait till the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks! I have to think things through, so I'm just taking this one chapter at a time, but hopefully it'll be up soon. Thank you for reviewing! -Traveller

Reviewer: meerkatalex Signed [Report This]
Date: 23/05/09 - 11:51 am Title: The Boat

Aw, poor Fair! And happy belated birthday to you, my fellow author! :D I hope that this review is good and full of - well, not constructive critisism as there is nothing to critisise - but full of happy news for you as a late birthday present.

First off, I am very pleased that the chapter starts looking at Diamond and Dale, who seems an interesting character; I like his personality; he just seems to come across as likeable and trusting at first and second glances. The fact that the chapter begins, too, with the description of the paddock and ponies is another favourite of mine in this recent update. I like it how sweet it is that Diamond compares the liver chestnut pony with Tawny, and that she finds a friend in Dale even after he finds out her true identity. He is a stout fellow. The angst, although not as strong in this chapter, is made up by the fact that the romance between Merry and his wife is beautifully written, and how well Pippin deals with it - keeping his nose out and being tactful.

Oh, I almost forgot. There is a new author recently joined this website; abatwa, she is a new author who wishes to write about the Hobbits. I don't know what exactly her stories are about, except that they will contain the Hobbits and a lot of angst, but rest assured she's good - excellent - at description. As I said, I'm not sure about her stories, but I think they contain something different - but she won't tell me what it is. Could be anything. Could even be slash in there somewhere! But check out her stories when they're posted if you can, as she's a very enthusiastic writer. I hope she does well on this website, whatever she writes.

Okay then, I hope that the shortness of this review is forgiven - I have to go and prepare some 'taters for dinner. :D Thanks very much for the update, happy birthday, and I love the ending of the chapter - a hint of suspense is all we need - and a brilliant author like you! Hugs, love, from

meerkatalex

Author's Response: *Takes meerkatalex's birthday wishes and stow them in her pocket for safekeeping* Thanks! Believe it or not, seventeen really doesn't feel any different than sixteen! Oh well, I had a yummy giant chocolate-chip cookie with purple frosting that my mom made! Yeah, Fair's having some pretty scary dreams for the equivalent of a human twelve-year-old. I love Dale, too- I kind of based him a little bit off of my senior project mentor, in his looks and personality, although some things are different. I love talking about the ponies and describing each one's looks and personality individually because horses are such a big part of my life. I liked writing the angst scene between Merry and Estella. Oh, by the way, what did you think of Estella's character? I tried to make Stellie (there's another nickname for you, since you like them!) not quite as bold and strong as Diamond, but very sympathetic. Although I would like to make all the female characters strong, sort of like Tolkien did, I think that would eliminate some necessary contrast. And Estella is in no way weak. Tell me what you think of her! And the angst will be back full swing next chapter, never you fear! Hehehe. Lol, I'm such a torture monkey, but Pippin and Merry are both gluttens for punishment. I read about Abatwa on her homepage when she was under "newest member". I can't wait to read her stories, especially if they're about Hobbits. She said something about Pippin and auburn curls and emerald eyes and I was like, "Ok, you're my new friend"! Lol. But I have yet to speak to her. Tell her Traveller says hi and can't wait to meet her! And you always give me longer reviews than anyone else, so don't worry about it! It looks long on the page (that's what I love!) I bet your taters will turn out well enough to make even Gollum jealous, lol! Hug and love and plotbunnies, -Traveller

Reviewer: Dreamflower Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/05/09 - 11:04 pm Title: The Boat

Lovely to see that Estella has come to visit, and to see how pleased Pippin is to have her visiting and to see her with Merry.

I still think something fishy is up with Diamond's teacher. Why didn't she tell Dale that Diamond was married? Or that her husband was the Thain's heir? Very odd.

And I am getting REALLY curious about the mysterious connection between little Faramir and his namefather.  Has Pippin ever told his son about the Man he's named for?  I'd think he might guess who the Man is.

 



Author's Response: I liked writing the scene with Estella and Pippin together because they both have one thing in common- their love for Merry. I thought that Pippin would feel very ashamed and guilty that his illness put off their wedding, and that it would take lots of reassuring on the part of both Merry and Estella that it was alright and it wasn't his fault. Yes, something is fishy with Mistress Hibbs (you'll just have to wait and see what, though!). I don't actually think Mistress Hibbs knew that Pippin was the Thain's heir, because she lives kind of in the middle of nowhere and keeps to herself, and Pippin doesn't really like to flaunt his importance. I love the fact that I'm keeping you in suspense- I love to keep my readers on the edge of their seats and guessing! I think that Pippin would have told Fair some about Faramir, but only happy tales because the sad or dramatic ones would have been painful for him to think about and he didn't want Fair to seem him hurting (also the reason Fair's still with Nellie and Cory and not home with his father). It seems to me that the stories about Boromir would have been especially painful for Pippin to talk about, and about Denethor's descent into madness and his attempts to fry poor Faramir. So that would be why Fair is still doesn't know who the men in his dreams are. I have to say, I really loved writing the boat dream in this chapter. I had no idea what I was going to write about when I sat down to compose it- I just knew that Fair had to have another dream and it had to be dramatic. I really loved the way it turned out, and I hope you did, too! Thanks for your continued reads and reviews! -Traveller

Reviewer: Dreamflower Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/04/09 - 12:07 pm Title: Surprises for Pippin

A very sweet chapter! I can tell that you are quite fond of horses and ponies!

I'm more than a little intrigued about the situation Diamond has found at Mistress HIbbs' home-- it seems a little fishy.

And I loved little Primmie's letter to her "Uncle Pippin"!

I look forward to seeing more.



Author's Response: Thanks! Yes, I am very fond of horses and ponies, as I ride on a regular basis (going in about an hour and a half, actually!) I do have a slight flaw when writing about them, though, I will admit. Although horses and ponies are actually two different species (my riding teacher taught me that), and have completely different personalities, I often tend to make my little Hobbit-ponies seem more like horses because it's the personality I want them to have. The only ponies I've written about that actually has a pony-personality are Tucker, Sam's pony, and maybe Cratez, Merry's pony. Cheyanna and Tawny have very much horse-personalities. But I try! Ooooh, the plot will thicken with Mistress Hibbs- you'll see! *Laughs to self, slightly diabolically* This is so much fun! But really, though, do you think the character is believeable? There's a fine line between eccentricity and believeabilty, and I'm trying really hard not to cross it. Primmie is just one adorable bundle of AWWWW! I love characterizing the cute little kids, like Fair and the Gamgees. But Primmie is a little bit special because of her empathy and connection with Pippin, which makes him love her back with an intensity that even he can't seem to explain. More on that later! Thanks for the review! -Traveller

Reviewer: meerkatalex Signed [Report This]
Date: 25/04/09 - 08:10 pm Title: Surprises for Pippin

Thank you for another lovely chapter! I loved this one especially; as there is more friendship in it as ever! Do you think that there will be another story after this? I do hope so! I am glad of the genres and that Primmie is better; and I also forgot to tell you that I love all of the character's nicknames you have invented - Fair's, Primmie's... They all seem just perfect for them. I've noticed that although Diamond has been missing Pippin a lot, she is coping well. I always imagined her like that; soft as cloud yet hard as Diamonds; strong, sturdy yet fearing that her Pip would not be alright. Yet you can tell that the love between all of the Hobbit's is strong and that nothing would come between them if they could help it.

He chuckled as he revealed the final ingredient. “And lobelia.”

Pippin raised an eyebrow and Merry’s eyes widened. But it was Frodo who spoke.

“Now there’s irony if I’ve ever seen it.”

These lines made me laugh, I'll admit that brewing lobelia in Sam's Magic Tea is probably what makes it taste so awful. :D Yes, I do love this chapter and am glad that you've updated so soon. In refrence to my stories; I'm really ever so sorry that I haven't got to them yet. I have really bad writer's block that seems to just keep returning. Whenever I feel the need to write it just comes out in a rush and I can't get pen to paper quickly enough... Then my ideas run away from me and it makes me feel useless. However I hope to update as soon as I am planning to kidnap a plot bunny in the near future so keep your eyes open!

Oh, and on the notes in your end chapter notes, (lol) please may I have the translations of human age to Hobbit age emailed to me? I think you know my email address or you can just contact me from my page. I'd like to update my profile soon too. Well I hope that this review has left you in a good mood. I like reviewing your stories as much as I like reading them! Oh and good going on calling one of the ponies Stybba. It reminds people of Merry's position in Rohan and of his importance. I love the original Stebba though; he's lovely. Afterthought: lying to someone would be uncommmon amoungst Hobbits, c'est vrai? I get the feeling that stealing, lying, etc would be frowned upon deeply by Hobbits and not many would dare to do that as it just doesn't seem like Hobbits to do that, does it? They are a fair and social folk and I wish I were a Hobbit. Well, glad to review again; please update soon! Your friend,

meerkatalex

Author's Response: If I were a wizard like Gandalf, I'd poof us both into Hobbit-ness and we could live in the Shire! Wouldn't that be fun? I'm glad you're still liking the story- thanks for the long review, I live on these! I love giving my characters nicknames. A special thing about Primrose's nickname, Primmie, is that I always thought that Frodo's mother, Primula, would be called Primmie before she died. I'd like to think that Frodo gave little Primrose that nickname, but that it still hurts him sometimes to hear her called that because it reminds him of his mum. Primmie's going to be just fine, don't worry! The reason that she and Pippin are so close is because they both get ill easily- all of the Gamgee children can't be as hardy and invincible as Goldie or Sam himself, can they? I feel so awful for poor Diamond- she wants nothing more than to be with her Pippin, but doesn't want to let him down by giving up her chance to learn under Mistress Hibbs. Did I tell you that the reason I made Diamond play the flute is because I play it, too? Although I'm not nearly as good as her ! :) I actually googled about herbs for respiratory health, and I laughed when I saw that lobelia is one of them! And Sam's tea is actually supposed to taste good, which I guess adds to the irony of the whole situation! I'm sorry you have writer's block! :( I'm in the process of shipping a whole hutch-full of plot bunnies to England via priority mail for you! :) What helps me think about my stories is taking my dog for a walk, for like forty-five minutes or so at a time. It gives me plenty of time to think, but only Pepper (that's my doggie, like Diamond's pony but my dog's a guy!) can be with me- if there are any other humans, I get distracted. You should try it. The Hobbit age chart is actually Dreamflower's- you can find the link under one of her reviews of OMAF (that's "Of Magic and Friendship", in case you didn't catch on!). It should be like the third or fourth one down from the top. Let me know if you can't find it. Since my stories are usually slightly AU, I generally only base my ages loosely off of this chart- I go with whatever works for what I'm writing. I always thought it would be a cute idea for Pippin's pony to have a foal by Merry's stallion, and that Pippin would give Merry the honor of naming it, in a gesture of friendship. AWWWW! moment. All ponies are cute! I ride English-style- jumping is fun! The horse I ride is named Harry- he's a big bay American Quarter Horse. Get this- is show name is Second Breakfast! How cute is that?! Yeah, I do think that lying and stealing and stuff like that would be very uncommon in the Shire, but there are always dissenters to society (like Ted Sandyman- what a jerk! I get more into him later). Speaking of which, yes, there will be a sequel to this! It will be less of a plot-driven story, I think, and more of little chronological snapshots of their lives, but there will still be a point, of course. Does that make sense? Sorry if it doesn't, but the happenings haven't sorted themselves out in my mind yet! It's always great to hear from you! Love from, Traveller

Reviewer: meerkatalex Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/04/09 - 07:44 am Title: Mister Samwise's Magic Tea

Again, very good to know that Pip's going to get better soon and his friends are there to look after him! I would love to visit Hobbiton sometime, and especially the market! Can you imagine a Hobbit-market? Full of mushrooms and baking ingredients every-where, and all different types of cloth and wool for sewing and knitting, and foreign gifts from Dwarves and maybe even Elves? I know they are sparse but it's still lovely to imagine it!

I would really like you to describe a Hobbiton market; I think it would be interesting and thought-provoking; not mention it would spark off all the plot bunnies! I love the descriptions of Fair and Goldie playing together! They are beautiful, and I'm glad to hear from the Gamgees again! :) There was only one mistake -

"She knows that you’re fever’s broken and that you’re going to be alright; all of the children do." The 'you're' should be 'your'; I just wanted to point that out so it's perfect! Your friend, in the utmost respect -

meerkatalex

Author's Response: Good things are always fun and reassuring to hear! I fixed the mistake, thanks for pointing it out. That's what I get for typing super-fast at twelve midnight! There are probably more, although I do try to edit as best I can before posting. Oh, well... Omigosh, visiting Hobbiton would be my dream come true! A Hobbit market (I'd be taller than everyone there, lol!) would be so amazing! I don't think I've ever actually been to a marketplace (define marketplace?), so I couldn't even begin to imagine what it would be like. I've read in travel magazines about the marketplaces in London and they sound different from what we have in the US. Have you been to those? I'd love to hear about them! If I ever write a marketplace scene I will definitely set about putting my description skills to work, although I'm not nearly adapt as it as the Master was- setting descriptions were Tolkien at his best. And I'll do whatever I can to set loose your plot bunnies for you! When are you going to update Dreams, Difficulties, and Darkness? I was looking forward to reading about the Pippin/Saradoc showdown! Duh,duh,DUH! Please don't leave me hanging! :) Anyway, I've got homework to do and have to sign off now, but I hope to post again soon! I'm working on the next chapter of this piece, and then I'll probably move on to The Bachelors Babysit for a while. We'll see where the inspiration strikes! Love always, -Traveller

Reviewer: Dreamflower Signed [Report This]
Date: 14/04/09 - 10:58 am Title: Mister Samwise's Magic Tea

Aww...this is a sweet chapter. I do like the way Sam deals with revealing Pippin's condition to Pippin's brother-in-law.  And the children were adorable.

Author's Response: Thanks! When I'm not on an angst-roll, I do tend to go for the sweet factor. It took a lot of thought to discern exactly how I wanted Sam to talk about Pippin's illness with Cory- what should he reveal, what should he hold back, and how formal should their terms be? I decided that, since Sam is no longer calling a lot of people "Mister", and since he would probably know Pippin's brother-in-law pretty well, he would call him Cory and hae enough trust in him to discuss about Pippin. I love the children! Goldie and Fair are such intensely good friends, and Ham makes me laugh! Thanks for reading and reviewing! -Traveller

Reviewer: meerkatalex Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/04/09 - 08:57 am Title: An Emerald Room in a House of Mahogany

Aw, beautiful! Sorry I haven't reviewed the story for a while; I've been so caught up in coursework deadlines and exam preparation I'm starting to neglect this website! But never fear; it shan't ever happen again - I will continue to read and review those stories who I appreciate and give my comments.

I've been waiting for this chapter for a long time. But it was worth the wait, as I'm sure you'll agree. I'm glad Pip is getting better, however slowly. :) I hope that Diamond doesn't worry about our favourite Hobbit too much... He is strong and I'm sure she would try to be for him too. However I see that it's hard for her, being in a room the same colour as her beloved's eyes. Pip's eyes are so emerald, aren't they? I'd just like to point out that to other readers. If you change Pippin's eye colour, you must be mad! He is adorable just how he is! Anyway, Pippin is getting better! Yay!

But I cannot help but wonder about poor Merry. What happened that night that Pip won't tell Frodo? And I hope Sam's ok. He's a good Hobbit at heart; they all are, for caring for their cousin/friend so much in his hours of need. The friendship of Hobbits is beautiful and at times tear-provoking. To quote Gandalf: "Hobbits really are amazing creatures."

Well, that's how I think it goes anyway. So, thank you Traveller for posting this chapter. It is beautiful beyond words - oh and is Fair going to speak to Goldi in the next chapter? I think that their relationship is so darn CUTE! Anyone agree with me? :) Overall, thanks for submitting, Traveller, and those who have reviewed, good for you! :) -

meerkatalex

Author's Response: Yay, it's so great to finally hear from you! I thought you'd given up on me- I was sad! I'm glad you liked my new chapter- sorry it was such a long time coming. My exams are really close, so I'll probably be spending more time studying, but this week is spring break, so I'll do some writing now. I'm obsessed with Pippin's eyes- I even got an emerald (fake, unfortunately)on my class ring! (The fact that emerald is my birthstone only has partly to do with my reasons for choosing it!) Yep, Pip seems to be finally getting well, though slowly, but I suppose that's to be expected, since he was so very sick. Nothing happened that night other than what you already know- sorry if this was unclear. It's just that Frodo doesn't know, but he can guess. The thing is getting Merry to come to terms with what's happening to Pippin. More about this next chapter. I do feel really bad for poor Merry- he's suffering almost as much emotionally as Pippin is physically! Ahh, angst, sweet angst! Gotta love it! :) Gandalf's words are so true! Hobbits really are amazing creatures- that's probably got something to do with why I love writing about them so much! And Pippin is the most amazing of them all! :) Fair and Goldie's relationship is so incredibly cute, but also very strong, a bit like Merry and Pippin's, but soon to become more like Pippin and Diamond's or Sam and Rosie's or Merry and Estella's! If you know what I mean, hehehe. Yeah, I think Goldie and Fair might actually do some talking next chapter. Anyway, thanks so much for reading and reviewing- I've missed you! I was about to start emailing and stalking you! Lol, just kidding! :) Talk to you later! -Traveller

Reviewer: Dreamflower Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/03/09 - 01:23 pm Title: An Emerald Room in a House of Mahogany

This is quite a story!  I love the interactions here of all four of the Travellers.  It's quite nice to have Frodo still in the Shire and available to help his cousins, and Sam was wonderful.

I don't think you are doing too badly with the h/c.  It's hard to get that right sometimes, especially with no medical background of your own.  But I think you are handling the illnesses all right.  And there is no doubt of the comfort part of the equation!  The love is clear.

Frodo's memory of the miruvor and how it had helped made me wonder if he might decide to write to Rivendell, or even to the King, to see if there is something that could be done for Pippin that Shire medicine could not. Did you indicate what year this story is taking place? I don't recall...

I do find myself getting curious about Diamond's new teacher...you put some hints in there that make me wonder if all is aboveboard in that situation.

And more and more I wonder about Faramir and the other Faramir and the dreams.



Author's Response: I'm glad you're liking it! Having Frodo back in the Shire and not a complete slave to his own illness is quite an essential factor in my story. Since he's always been sort of the leader of the group, being the Ringbearer and everything, the doctor role for him just sort of made sense- that he would be able to think clearly in a life or death situation. Merry also possess this ability, but when it comes to Pippin his fear for his dear friend overrides this natural calmness. I'm so I'm doing alright with the illnesses and treatments and such. Poor Pip- if only I didn't have to do this to him! Writing to Rivendell or Aragorn was not particularly what I had in mind, but it's a great idea! The purpose of that little flashbackish sort of thingy merely to say that Pippin did indeed get ill on the journey, but was prevented from getting worse by Gandalf and the elven drink. Umm, I don't have a particular year for this story. I have a general idea, but I'd have to do the math... I absolutely LOVE Mistress Hibbs! Yes, there will be more about her, don't worry! Sorry to keep you wondering about Faramir and Fair, but then again, that's half the fun of reading the story, right? Glad you're liking it- I'll try to update soon! -Traveller

Reviewer: Dreamflower Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/03/09 - 12:48 am Title: Real Pain

I'm finally getting a chance to read this, and it's already very absorbing.

And I am wondering more than ever about the mysterious connection between the two Faramirs.

 



Author's Response: I'm glad that you're reading it, and that it's drawing you into the story- I'm doing my job right! The connection between Faramir and Fair Took is going to be discussed in more detail probably in the next book in the series, but more dreams will definitely occur in this story. Please keep and reading and reviewing and enjoying! -Traveller

Reviewer: Merry Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/03/09 - 10:54 pm Title: An Emerald Room in a House of Mahogany

Very good. Do write more soon.

Author's Response: Thanks and I'll try my best if you'll keep reading and reviewing! -Traveller

Reviewer: Merry Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/02/09 - 12:02 am Title: The Power of Friendship

A beautiful chapter. Well written. Please update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you're enjoying it! I will try to update as soon as I can- busy, busy, busy! Keep reading and reviewing! -Traveller

Reviewer: meerkatalex Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/02/09 - 05:15 pm Title: The Power of Friendship

Such a lovely ending to this chapter; I really hope that Pip gets better soon! ((Well, not too soon, but soon enough for the Hobbits to feel better about themselves and more sure about his fate.)) Thank you for your thank yous and dedications, and I hope to read more soon! Sorry this is such a short review but I'm a little tired, I promise to leave a longer one in the near future on your next chapter. Afterthought: How long will this story be, and do you have any plans for future stories? Thanks again, and plot bunnies for you,

meerkatalex

Author's Response: I'm not exactly sure how long this story is going to be- probably as long or longer than the last one. I'm less mentally organized about this one than its prequel, and I'm throwing a lot of random plot-points and occurences together in something that resembles a chronological order (I hope!) Yes, there will be at least one more story in this particular series, but it will be considerably less angsty than this one and the last one. I have many other random angsty things happening to Pippin that I have been turning over in my mind since like elementary school, but they have absolutely nothing to do with this series and the sequence of events that occurs in these stories. This series is actually one of my newer inventions- most of the other plot bunnies have been with me for even more than the approximately three or four years I've had this. Most of them, however, involve the Hobbits going on some sort of journey (alternate-quests?), so I would have to come up with entirely new plot lines. *sigh* This might take years. I would really like to come up with something so I could post the burning angst, though. What do you think I should do about this dilemma? Anyway, you're very welcome for the dedication-it was the least I could do after that lovely review you left me for "Of Magic and Friendship"! Thanks for reading/reviewing/being a great friend! Plot bunnie to you, too, -Traveller

Reviewer: Midnight Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/02/09 - 08:00 pm Title: Then I Did

"...'cause I'm prayin' for daylight, waitin' for that mornin' sun. So I can act like my life ain't goin' wrong. Baby come back to me, I swere I'll make it right, just don't make me spend another lonely night, prayin' for daylight!"

-Midnight

Author's Response: Yeah, the song actually has nothing to do with what happens in the story, lol. You spelled "swear" wrong! :) Lol, you know I love you! You know that line in the song "Hoping that I didn't wait too long, but this is just the dark before the dawn"? I almost named the chapter in "Of Magic and Friendship" that is called "Never Again" "The Dark Before the Dawn" after that line, because it fits completely. The reason that I didn't name it that is because I felt it foreshadowed Pippin's survival, and I wanted to keep my readers on the edge of their seat, believing that he was going to die. "Never Again" is a much more hopeless-sounding chapter, don't you agree? -Traveller

Reviewer: meerkatalex Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/02/09 - 01:34 pm Title: Praying for Daylight

Another beautiful chapter! I love this as it shows the relationship between Merry, Frodo and Sam. I'm glad you kept the gardener in, as I view him as Frodo's most loyal, trustworthy and comforting friend. Pippin's going to be alright, isn't he? I hope so; I'll have to cry if he dies. I haven't read a story yet where Pip dies and I don't cry. I think it's terrible that he's in so much pain, and there's a cure for it but they cannot get it yet.

Asthma! Why didn't I think of that?! My dad has it and I didn't even place my mind on it! I hope that Pip will get better soon, and when he gets to see Fair again it will be a lovely reunion. About Fair's name... I love it that Pippin and Diamond named him after Faramir, as he was like a brother to him in several ways. Boromir, I think, was more of one to him, but as Faramir was alive I think it would have meant a lot to him too. Anyway, I love Fair's nickname because he sounds so innocent and fair of face, and because if Pippin wasn't called Pippin that would be a good name for him instead. Er, out-of-topic-question; does Fair marry Goldilocks, Sam's daughter, when he grows up? If so, that's another pairing I think is beautiful... *Sob*.

"Merry fought down the urge to yell with excitement, knowing that if he did so it would only cause Pippin to start gasping all over again." This is so like Merry in character, and I love the end of your chapter too, when you say that Pip is willing to stay up all night jsut for Merry. I really, really, hope that he gets better soon; you can't put him through too much trauma, can you? Overall, you already know how much I love this story and the first, so keep going! I will review until the end! :-)

meerkatalex

Author's Response: Yay for long reviews! You know I love these! :) I was never going to discount Sam from the story- this series is called "The Travellers" and I fully intended to include all four of them! Sam plays a rather important part in this story, as you will see in the next chapter. I read your story (I think it's called "Misfortune and Mushrooms") where you killed both Merry and Pippin at the same time! This was before we started reviewing each other's stories, so I didn't know who you were, and I thought, oh my gosh, how could you do that? But then I went back and read it again and realized how well it was written and what beautiful angst there was, and it's become one of my favorite stories. I'll have to go back and review it for real one of these days! As I mentioned in my first story, Fair is crushing on Goldie... I'm glad you liked the end- the really intense scenes are by far the most fun to write! It wasn't that Pippin was willing to stay up all night for Merry- quite the opposite, really. Merry was willing to stay up all night for Pippin. It was that Pippin was willing not to die because of Merry being there with him. This is how this chapter's song lyrics apply: "but you always say something without even knowing, that I'm hanging on your words with all of my might, and it's alright, yeah I'm alright, for one more night..." The only thing that is keeping Pippin from giving in completely to his pain is Merry. I'm glad you're enjoying it! As always, thanks for the reviews! -Traveller

Reviewer: meerkatalex Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/02/09 - 12:41 pm Title: Real Pain

I especially love this in the story:

“Be strong, Merry. Be strong for our Pippin.” “I shall,” came the soft whisper.

This is so cute; I love the way that you portray all of the Hobbit's relationships. Is Sam out of the picture now? Anyway, I really like the part at the end about Fair and his dream; and I think I know who the gray man is, yay!

And have I told you that I think Fair is such a true nickname for Pippin's son? I think that the relationship between all of the Hobbits is SO cute - the way you portray Frodo as the supportive cousin for Merry is brilliant - Merry always comes across as the strong cousin for Pip, but when it gets too much, everyone has to fall sometimes, don't they? See, what I'm trying to say is that Merry always comes across as so strong, butu he must feel helpless sometimes, which you have perfected absolutely perfectly! I hope to read more soon - and well done for making this chapter excellent! -

meerkatalex

Author's Response: You have now idea how happy it makes me that you liked that line! I was going to word it another way (I don't even remember how, anymore, even though I just wrote it last night!), but then that line just sort of came to me. I totally agree that it's basically a summary of the relationships between Frodo, Merry, and Pippin, even though that's not what I intended it to be. (This makes me wonder- in my AP English class, we go through books and pick them apart, picking out symbolism, foreshadowing, and all sorts of literary devices. What if the author didn't actually intend for those things to be there- what if what he or she wrote just sounded right at the moment? Of course, most of those authors are long dead, so I guess we'll never know!) No, Sam is not out of the picture, now! The series is called "The Travellers" because it's about all four of them- I guess I just write about Merry and Pippin more because they're my favorites! I'm pretty sure that Sam will show up in the next chapter, so never fear! I'm glad you liked the dream part- I absolutely love writing that! We'll just have to wait and see if your guess as to who the gray man is is correct (take a stab at the sobbing man, too, while you're at it!). Why do you say Fair is such a true nickname for Pippin's son? You hadn't mentioned this before. I acutally got it from a series of books that I read called the "Mrs. Murphy Mysteries"- the dude's name is "Pharamond". I mean, come on. They're set in modern times. Anyway... Yeah, Merry always tries to be strong and seem like he's not afraid of anything, but he really only feels that way when he's with Pippin, because they build each other up so much. There will be more of this aspect in the next chapter, so keep reading! (Although I'm sure you would anyway!) Thanks again, -Traveller

Reviewer: Merry Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/02/09 - 01:16 am Title: Real Pain

Very well done. A great chapter , as always. Looking foreward for the next!

Author's Response: Thank you! I look forward to writing the next chapter- I just have to decide which of my whirling, killer plot bunnies to stick in there! Keep R&Ring! -Traveller

Reviewer: meerkatalex Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/01/09 - 10:57 am Title: Then I Did

Great work on the story so far! Keep updating please and make sure your paragraphs on description aren’t too long! Otherwise I have no complaints! The scene with Merry and Pippin at the end of the chapter is so beautiful it brought tears to my eyes! There are no grammar or spellings mistakes that I can see, as per usual, and your style of writing is brilliant. However you do like to make Merry call Pippin ‘dear’ a lot – is this typical of your writing style? Just one of those little habits that are hard to break? Because I think it’s so sweet! The lyrics from the song that are in the story are cute and appropriate, and the band Rascal Flatts – sorry. I’ve never heard of them. You must think I’m so behind on the times, and yes, I am. I am not an up-to-date person, and I don’t know much about the eighties, seventies or sixties. However the chapter title and the title of the story are awesome. I love the relationship between all of the Hobbits, especially Merry and Pippin, and the way that you portray Diamond seems interesting and correct. I love this story and hope that you respond to this review soon – wishing you all the best, and a further few plot bunnies,

meerkatalex

Author's Response: Thanks for all your wonderful comments! Which long description paragraphs would you be referring to? I honestly thought that I hadn't included as many as normal in this chapter. Let me know- constructive crit is good and appreciated. I loved writing that Merry-Pippin scene at the end of the chapter, and I love making my readers happy-cry! About the "dear" thing: in my mind, as probably in yours, Merry and Pippin are as close to each other as Frodo and Sam are to each other. They have been through an incredible amount together, and feel so close to each other that it's hard for me to describe their relationship in words (but I sure as heck am trying!) Merry feels especially close to Pippin at this point in time because he very recently came so close to losing him forever. Merry calls him "dear" because that's exactly what he is: extremely dear to Merry's heart. Merry also view's Pippin's actions in allowing Diamond to go and study with Mistress Hibbs as selfless, for remember, this is the time of the male-dominated society. Pippin could have technically stopped her if he wanted to, but it's not in his personality. Keith Urban, one of my favorite singers, said in his song "You're My Better Half": "They say behind every man is a good woman, but I think that's a lie, 'cause when it comes to you, I'd rather have you by my side." I think this quote pretty much sums up Pippin and Diamond's relationship, as well as the fact that they're completley, head-over-heels in love with each other. (As you can see, I get much of my inspiration for my stories from music!) Anyhow, the fact that Merry views Pippin as such a morally good person results in his frequent use of the affectionate term. In return, Pippin sees Merry's choice to stay and take care of him all by himself for three whole months as equally selfless, and he does occasionally call him "dear" as well. I do have to admit that I was inspired by the movie "The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian". Aslan calls Lucy "dear one", and it just touched me because it felt like an intimate term to describe an intimate friendship. I'm not going to say "Oh, my gosh, you've never heard of Rascal Flatts, where have you been?". I'm only going to say that you need to check them out because they are AWESOME!!!!!! They are not from previous decades but rather, released their first album in 2000. They are a country group that crosses over with rock, and their music is amazing, inspriational, and fun to listen to. If you don't mind me asking, where are you from? I've noticed that you spell the word "favorite" with a "u", which implies that you are from a European country. I'm from southeastern North Carolina, USA, in case you were wondering. If you're from Europe that might explain why you haven't heard of Rascal Flatts, as they are a country group and it's probably not as popular over there as it is here down south. I'll see if I can find links to music videos for "Every Day" and "Then I Did", as well as lyrics to the songs. They're worth listening to! Oh, and don't worry: I'm not up-to-date either! I just got my first ipod this Christmas! I'm glad you like my portrayal of Hobbit relationships. Because I'm curious: what exactly do you like about the way I portray Diamond? Since Tolkien never mentioned her except in the Appendices, I had to create her character completely from scratch. I'd love to know specifically what you think of her, because to me she's a very interesting character! Thanks for your continued reviews and support. I've added you to my favorites, in case you haven't noticed! Plot bunnies to you, too, -Traveller

You must login (register) to review.