You must login (register) to review.
Title: Laughter Floating Over My Shoulder Reviewer: Elbragol Signed
I'm guessing this is a movie-verse version. If so, good in a way, particularly as you show knowledge of the book-verse in the names of the Valar and various elf-friends. I would like to know how Gandalf got to Minas Tirith and back in a couple of days? Look at the map: it is a long way, practically the same distance as it is to Mordor. And no, he would not use teleportation magic; if he could do that he could not have been imprisoned on top of Orthanc. And he would not have needed Shadowfax.

It was always my biggest bugbear with the film that they gave no impression of the passage of years involved between the Party and Frodo leaving the Shire (it was seventeen years).

There is a full timeline of The Third Age, with a detailed account of everyone's movements in the back of RotK (book). You will also learn that the War of the Ring was 3018-19 of the TA, not 3000. The Party was in 3001.

See for the timeline if you don't have access to the book.

I know the movie-verse is allowed some deviation from the book, but loving the books, I just had to put the record straight.

P.S. I remember reading a very good "Secret Diary of Curumo" way, way back, probably 1996, when the internet was all new and shiny (to me, at any rate). It was probably the first piece of fan fiction I had ever read. Very good it was too; a little bit tongue-in-cheek but sticking faithfully to the book. Curumo was Saruman's name in Valinor. OMG it is still there:

Author's Response: It is sorta movie-verse, sorta book-verse, sorta messing with the timeline. A lot of the first chapters I had written just based on my memory at the time so it was a weird mixture between the two. As the story progresses I have been writing it with the timeline next to me. That being said, I did mess with some dates and as you have noticed, some of them don't make too much sense. Bear with them for now as they get more accurate later. Unless I am misunderstanding what you are saying, I think you just missed where I changed years. I generally put only the month and the day except for the first entry of a new year. The years do change so that the War of the Ring is in 3018-3019. I'll have to check out that fanfiction. Thanks for the link!
Date: 15/06/13 - 07:21 am [Report This]
Title: Giving It Up Reviewer: EldarinPrincess Signed
"rest in peace on my little island"--perfect
Date: 24/11/10 - 08:26 pm [Report This]
Title: Laughter Floating Over My Shoulder Reviewer: EldarinPrincess Signed
I love this!
Date: 24/11/10 - 08:20 pm [Report This]
Title: Giving It Up Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed
This is amazing Linorien! I love the part where Aragorn is laughing, as Gandalf is writing.
I was laughing along with Aragorn.

Me: *Laughs wildly* Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!!
Aragorn: Ha… ha… ha… It’s not funny anymore. You ruined it, Fei.
Me: *Pouts*

I really like how you portrayed Gandalf, I thought this was going to be hard to read (you know, Maia and all) but I really liked how it was accurate as well as humoress (I think I made up a new word). *Laughs* I loved the “7 reasons”. I wonder what jokes Merry and Pippin are playing… ? *Grins evilly* “(I hope no one notices my uncanny impression of the Nazgul!)” – I love this line… I never picked up on that! Really, really great job, Linorien!

Balain na le,

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm glad you enjoyed that part. There is indeed a reason that part gets the honor of beeing the chapter title. And I'm happy you picked up on Nazgul impressions. Balain na le!
Date: 21/01/09 - 03:13 pm [Report This]
Title: Laughter Floating Over My Shoulder Reviewer: LegolasLoverLimwen Signed
Hey Lady of Lake,
About my story My Immortal, can you give me a few hints on wat you would change? thanks for the offer to edit it when I do rewrite it also

forever your faithful writer,


Author's Response:

Ican't think of much on the ones posted already because I see them as final but I would use more descriptions. Use feelings and senses especially in battle, it also improves stories if there is a tad more drama. My personal preference but I would have someone else fall in love with Limwen and have her fight about it with Legolas. Other than that I agree with what you said and what you already have written.

Namarie, Lady of the Lake

Date: 19/10/08 - 04:06 pm [Report This]
Title: Laughter Floating Over My Shoulder Reviewer: Karlmir Stonewain Signed
Only one minor quibble: Gandalf and his friends would be celebrating the Winter Soltice around December 25th, not Christmas.

Author's Response: Ya, I suppose, but I don't think you have Winter Solstice carols so it wouldn't be as interesting, thanks for pointing it out though. Also I'm sorry if I might have offended anybody who doesn't celebrate Christmas but I do so if you don't agree please just let it pass over. Thanks!
Date: 05/10/08 - 07:08 pm [Report This]
Title: Laughter Floating Over My Shoulder Reviewer: atouchofhobbit Signed
For the Valar’s sake --*rumble of thunder* -- SORRY!

Haha... Loved it and really hope you get the second chapter up soon!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'll get it up by tommorrow! And there will be refrences to the powers, eventually.
Date: 29/09/08 - 01:09 pm [Report This]
Title: Laughter Floating Over My Shoulder Reviewer: lindahoyland Anonymous
This was very enjoyable!

Author's Response: Thank you very much!
Date: 27/09/08 - 02:12 pm [Report This]
Title: Laughter Floating Over My Shoulder Reviewer: Aranel Erulisse Signed
He he he! That was good! I liked the entry with Aragorn laughing alot. Is this Movie verse or Book verse by the way? :)

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you liked that bit. The laughing will continue, I promise! started out being more movie because it was what I could remember off the top of my head, but the later chapters are more book. I have started using the timeline in the appendics but I changed some because I don't think some of it fits. I mean really, why would Gandalf of all people be stuck on the top of a tower with no food, water, or shelter for over a month! Anyways, it will probably be more book-verse from now on. Thanks for the review!
Date: 24/09/08 - 06:11 pm [Report This]
Title: Laughter Floating Over My Shoulder Reviewer: caladhiel amariel Signed
Very good, very nice tone, also very believable! well done and keep writing!

Author's Response:

Thanks a lot!

Date: 18/09/08 - 02:46 pm [Report This]
Title: Giving It Up Reviewer: Sharpe_and_Harper Signed
Can't wait! :)

Author's Response:

It's coming soon. I am all done typing, I am in editing process. It will be a little a little shorter though.

Date: 29/08/08 - 07:39 pm [Report This]
Title: Laughter Floating Over My Shoulder Reviewer: Sharpe_and_Harper Signed
This is so hysterically funny! My favorites were day 23, day 25, and day 26. It all was wonderful, though! Do you plan on writing more? I sure hope so! This is going on my favorites!  Could you maybe do me a favor, and check out some of my stories? I would like to hear your comments on what I can improve on.  Again, I really loved this, and so what if someone else wrote something like this. Let me tell you, I’ve read others like this before, and this is by far the best. Keep on writing! Take care!


Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am currently working on writing this when i have time in class. I'll try to post when I have 10 more days. However, I will probably change a few things aroud on Chapter one now that I have found my timeline. Thank you again and I will check out your stories as soon as possible!
Date: 21/08/08 - 04:44 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.