Reviews For Elven Ears
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: elfenears Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/09/08 - 06:20 am Title: Luthillia's Spell

i finnally finished reading this story and i'm glad i did. very good and well written. the idea of the elven ears was really good. the idea of a sequel is brilliant and i will read it if you write it. thankd for writing and keep up the good work x

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review. Knowing that someone out there appreciates my stories is the ultimate reward.

I decided on doing a sequel after a few of my readers requested it. How could I refuse? "The road goes ever onward," as Tolkien once said.

Reviewer: elfenears Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/06/08 - 05:57 am Title: Wormwood's Curse?

i'm sorry i've only just got around to reading this chapter as ive been snowed under with college work, i've finished my diploma now so when i get back from curch hopefully i shall read the rest of your story and tell you what i think.
this chapter is really good, it seems as though the pendant has a mind of its own. another piece of evil jewellry to threaten gondor lol. great ending bit of a cliff hanger. thanks for writing x

Author's Response: Could Liv Tyler's Evenstar pendant really be her Precious? Is she falling under the influence of an evil device like The One Ring? Read on to solve the mystery. I'm glad your enjoying it. Thanks for your reviews.

Reviewer: Shadewolf7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 31/05/08 - 07:40 pm Title: Anorien

Interesting, I'll hand it that. Seems like a Real World crossover to me.

Mind, I've never seen Twilight Zone, so I'm not quite sure how it pertains, but, hey. I'll just take your word on it.

Hope dear old Liv paid attention to her Sindarin lessons!

Author's Response: Liv has no problem speaking fluent Sindarin and Westron in this story. In fact, that's one of the mysteries. Please read on, and thanks for your interest.

The Twilight Zone was a late 1950's TV program featuring mysterious stories involving sci-fi and/or the occult. Sometimes the ending were macabre.

Reviewer: Lira_of_Imladris Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/04/08 - 05:17 am Title: Anorien

Hmm, interesting. Yeah, i think this can make the challenge, it sounds like it's a good story, i might have to read more when i get home. Thanks for contacting me as well otherwise i never would've read this - Li

Author's Response: I was reading your challenges recently and discovered that "Elven Ears" might qualify as meeting the one on a modern object in Middle Earth. I've already dropped a few hints that the Evenstar pendant Liv Tyler posesses might have magical qualities, even though it's only a modern reproduction. All that will become apparent as the story progresses. Thanks for your time and review, Lira.

Reviewer: elfenears Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/03/08 - 08:51 am Title: The Steward of Merethrond

it is ironic with my name and me reviewing the story but it was good so i couldnt resist. i dont even know why i chose this name, i just like them in the film i guess lol
anyway good chapter and good to see the princess repenting she was a little harsh at the beginning. great detail you put in and attention to decriptions.
you said that mithrandir helped arwen, isnt he in valinor or i am missing something. keep up the great work xx

Author's Response: Thanks for your review. I'm glad to see that you're enjoying the story. Yes, Luthirien has the impetuosity of youth, but her heart is in the right place--even though her mother has to take her down a peg once in a while.

In the Fourth Age timeline that I've created, Gandalf returned from Valinor in the year 13 in response to an urgent plea for help from the enchantress Luthillia. Later, he departed on a grand tour of Middle Earth and the adjoining lands in order to see what changes had taken place while he had been living in the Undying Lands. His whereabouts at the time of "Elven Ears" is uncertain, since he had decided to travel incognito.

Reviewer: Nazgrrl Signed [Report This]
Date: 24/03/08 - 11:03 pm Title: Anorien

Thank you for clarifying. I have never seen this "Twilight Zone" but, I do look forward to the next chapter.
NZ

Author's Response: "The Twilight Zone" was a TV series during the late 1950's to the early 1960's hosted by Rod Serling. It featured stories, often with bizarre plots, involving Sci-Fi, the supernatural or the occult. You can see reruns on YouTube. I hope to update in a few days.

Reviewer: Nazgrrl Signed [Report This]
Date: 23/03/08 - 06:35 pm Title: Anorien

Hmmm. This is getting "curiouser and curiouser . . ."

I don't seem to like Aragorn's family very much . . . they seem a bit rotten inside, and I'm not sure if this is a good thing.

Also, I feel kind of worried, both for Liv's safety, and the King and Queen's sanity if things keep on spontaneously appearing around Liv. =)
NZ

Author's Response: Luthirien may seem a bit arrogant, but you have to remember that she is wielding a magistrate's power at a very young age and is prone to smugness after a cleverly won success. As for her ambitions--you must keep in mind that she's the offspring of Elessar and Evenstar, of whose own ambitions there should be no doubt. In my various stories, I've tried to portray both of them as hands-on rulers who would surely pass their hard-working idealism on to their children. Luthirien's ambitions are not truly selfish.

I'm glad you feel a certain tension over Liv Tyler's safety, as well as the sanity of the royal couple. That is, after all, my intent. Remember, Liv has travelled to Middle Earth via the Twilight Zone. Stranger things have yet to happen.

Reviewer: elfenears Signed [Report This]
Date: 23/03/08 - 06:29 am Title: Beneath the Citadel

interesting, very interesting lol. great chapter and lots of detail. will arwen and liv meet eventually? anyway keep up the good work and update soon xx

Author's Response: When I said in the disclaimers that the story wasn't connected with you, I hadn't considered reviews. Yours, of course, are much appreciated. I suppose quite a few readers will see a bit of irony or humor that a story entitled Elven Ears is reviewed by elfenears.

Will Arwen and Liv finally meet? All I can tell you is to watch for the next update. Thanks again for your interest.

Reviewer: elfenears Signed [Report This]
Date: 13/03/08 - 04:58 am Title: The Iron Princess

good another chapter, this is getting really interesting. i like how things just appear. i wish i had a a magical purse lol. wasent expecting that ending nooo update soon keep up the great work x

Author's Response: Thanks, elfenears. I'm glad you enjoyed the way Chapter 2 ended. It was intended to be mildly shocking to the reader, although much more so to Liv Tyler. There is, of course, a point to these objects appearing one after another on her person, but I'm not going to reveal it until the end.

Luthirien, Queen Evenstar's eldest daughter, was introduced in "Arwen's Journey" as somewhat of a child prodigy, having high aptitudes for mathmatics and architecture. Now in her early 30's, she has acquired political ambitions, something I may explore in future stories.

Reviewer: Nazgrrl Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/03/08 - 12:40 pm Title: Anorien

You know, I just had a feeling that this Camp Stonewain might have been from Arwen's Journey. =)

Update soon? Please?
NZ

Author's Response: Right you are! For those readers not familiar with Camp Stonewain, see Chapters 29, 32 and 34 of "Arwen's Journey."

Yes, Nazgrrl, I will update "Elven Ears" soon.

Reviewer: elfenears Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/03/08 - 07:17 am Title: Anorien

this is a really interesting start, i dont think i've ever read a fanfic with liv coming to middle earth. keep up the good work. i would love to read more

Author's Response: There are already a few stories here in which Liv Tyler comes to Middle Earth, but she's always been accompanied by other cast members. I haven't run across any yet in which she's alone. This is only supposed to be a short fic, so it will probably run only one or two more chapters--that is, unless the characters take over. They seem to do that to me sometimes. Anyway, thanks for your comments. Your interest is much appeciated.

Reviewer: Ria Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/03/08 - 02:40 am Title: Anorien

This is quite an enjoyable twist on the Girl In Middle Earth trope. I like the attention you pay to the physical and historical reality of Gondor.

Author's Response: Most of the girl-falling-into-Middle-Earth stories that I've read, thus far, seem to be a projection of the author's fantasies about Tolkien's world. Being a fellow and a bit past the age for that sort of fantasy, my idea for a story of this genre naturally gravitated toward a tale of the macabre. I've always had an interest in history, hence have made an effort to make my stories agreeable to the canon. I've also tried to make them replete with geographical references so that my readers can follow the characters' movements about Middle Earth. In addition, I believe such references add to the readers' mental images of each scene as it unfolds, at least for those scenes taking place in outdoor settings. Thanks for your review, Ria.

Reviewer: Nazgrrl Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/03/08 - 09:26 pm Title: Anorien

Wow. This looks like it could turn into a really interesting story, Karlmir.

Camp Stonewain . . . I like it!
NZ

Author's Response: Get ready for a little bit of horror later on. This is, after all, a "Twilight Zone" episode. Camp Stonewain is from "Arwen's Journey." Located in the Stonewain Valley a few miles from the Great West Road, it's an up-to-date military installation for the training of Gondorian and Ithilien rangers. King Elessar had it built as part of his modernization program for the Gondorian military after the War of the Ring.

Reviewer: elven lily Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/03/08 - 08:41 pm Title: Anorien

What an interesting idea! I wonder what on earth the real Arwen is going to think of it (and Aragorn)! Anyway, I'm liking it so far and hope you update soon!

Author's Response: Thanks for your interest. The idea of one or more of the LotR actors in Middle Earth has already been used numerous times, so I thought I'd give it a new twist as a "Twilight Zone" episode. My original characters in this story also appeared in "Arwen's Journey." I hope to have the second half of the story posted some time next week.

You must login (register) to review.