Reviews For Sundry Scrolls
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: peredhil lover Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/04/08 - 01:24 am Title: V. Undivided (Elladan & Elrohir)

I, of course, am a big fan of the twins, and I agree completely, this is very well written.

Author's Response: Thanx for reading and reviewing, p.l. - good to see that the vignette satisfies a Peredhil aficionado. I think the Twins' bond is very strong, and helps see them through adversity.

Reviewer: lindahoyland Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 20/04/08 - 12:59 am Title: V. Undivided (Elladan & Elrohir)

I'm not usually a fan of the twins but this is very moving and captures their pain well.

Author's Response: Thanx, Linda; I know that the Elf-twins aren't your favorite characters, so this is high praise indeed.

Reviewer: lindahoyland Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 20/04/08 - 12:57 am Title: IV. The Blessing of the Waters (Elrond)

This is so sad.I think this one of Tolkien's saddest stories about poor Celebrian. You capture their lost happiness poignantly.

Reviewer: lindahoyland Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 20/04/08 - 12:56 am Title: III. Silver and Gold (Galadriel)

I doubt that Galadriel is tamed very often!

Reviewer: lindahoyland Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 20/04/08 - 12:55 am Title: II. Family Jewels (Faramir)

Faramir is a far wiser father than either Feanor or Denethor.What jewel could be more priceless than a child?

Reviewer: lindahoyland Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 20/04/08 - 12:54 am Title: I. Daybreak (Faramir)

I love this one.What joy to be alive on such a day!

Reviewer: Rhapsody Signed [Report This]
Date: 30/12/07 - 10:10 pm Title: II. Family Jewels (Faramir)

Eeps, sorry Raksha, I thought I had another hour of mefa reviewing left.... I was just about to submit a review for this story, but I think uou won't mind me reviewing it any way :)

Ah, this is a ficlet that just speaks to me so clearly. Faramir reading FŰanor's oath and it seems that once he thought it justified, also given the darkness looming so close. Now as many years have passed, Faramir has moved on and knows peace. Not only that, fatherhood has changed him, just as all the events surrounding the Ring War changed him as well. You can almost hear how Faramir closes the book and that final thought, where he once might have felt like Maglor, shows how much he has risen above that dark fate. This is a beautiful mix of two books, told in an evocative manner.

Author's Response: Whoops; it's been awhile since I visited my stories here - thanx much for this lovely review. FAMILY JEWELS was fairly easy to write; it flowed out of me. I always felt sorry for Maglor; and felt that Faramir would have been able, with time, to rise above the sad legacy of Denethor's last, terrible madness.

Reviewer: lindahoyland Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 25/07/07 - 01:34 am Title: III. Silver and Gold (Galadriel)

Naughty but nice,good luck to Galadriel in conquering her husband !

Reviewer: lindahoyland Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 25/07/07 - 01:34 am Title: II. Family Jewels (Faramir)

Faramir is shown here to be far wiser than Feanor.

Author's Response: Thanx for the review, Linda. Feanor is certainly a fascinating character, but not one I'd like to be stuck with as a liege-lord or father. And yes, I think Faramir was wiser than the Spirit of Fire (ducks from potential arrows fired by Feanorian fans)...

Reviewer: lindahoyland Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 25/07/07 - 01:33 am Title: I. Daybreak (Faramir)

What a wonderful moment to experience !

Reviewer: Ria Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/07/07 - 02:49 am Title: II. Family Jewels (Faramir)

I like this glimpse of Faramir as a father and a scholar.

Author's Response: Thanx for reading and commenting, Ria; Faramir would really enjoy passing on his love of learning to his children. And fatherhood teaches him new things as well...

You must login (register) to review.